

5 March 2024

Ashan Welagedera walks away with the coveted HSBC Premier Golf Challenge Trophy for 2024

In a thrilling weekend up in the cool climes, Ashan Welagedera emerged victorious at HSBC's Premier Golf Tournament, earning him the coveted championship title and an unparalleled opportunity that will shape his golfing journey for years to come. The tournament which was held at the picturesque Nuwara Eliya Golf course on 2 March saw over 130 HSBC Premier Golfers compete for the Premier Challenge Trophy.

Ashan became the winner of B Division scoring 39 points, whilst Rajeev Rajapakse won A Division with 35 points. Sathies Balasubramaniam was the winner of C Division with 36 points on a B/B 9 whilst Mohomed Fazeel won the Seniors Division scoring 29 points and Ahalya Rajan was adjudged the winner of the Ladies Division with 34 points. The tournament was conducted with two shotgun starts at NEGC, which further enhanced the golfing experience on the course.

This year Sathies Balasubramaniam and Capt. Jayalath Perera were presented with an exclusive invitation to embark on an unforgettable journey to The Open, one of Golf's most esteemed events set to take place at the Royal Troon in Scotland. This once in a lifetime opportunity will offer them a chance to witness the excitement unfold firsthand, rubbing shoulders with the sport's elite and witness the brilliance of top-tier golfing talent on a global stage with memories that will last a lifetime.

"We are thrilled to congratulate all the winners on their impressive victories in this year's Premier Golf tournament and proud to offer two of our customers the opportunity to witness top golfers in the world at the UK Open, which HSBC is a Patron. We look forward to seeing their continuous success on and off the course." stated James Rebert, Head of Wealth & Personal Banking.

Beyond the Golf course the HSBC Premier Golf Tournament has served as a platform for connection, collaboration and celebration, and the shared experiences that have strengthened customer relationships.

The full list of winners is as follows.

Winner Overall Premier Challenge Trophy

Ashan Welagedera

Winner A Division

Rajeev Rajapakse 35 points

Winner B Division

Ashan Welagedera 39 points

Winner C Division

Sathies Balasubramaniam 36 points on a B/B 9

Winner Seniors Division Mohomed Fazeel 29 points

Winner Ladies Division

Ahalya Rajan 34 points

Roll & hole under the Stars

Dr. Navin Gunawardena & Hiran Senaviratne

Longest Drive

Romesh Abhayaratne

Nearest to the pin

Sanjiv Vairavanathan

Runner up A division

Adam Fernando 32 Points

Runner up B division

Ramesh Carvalho 38 Points

Runner up C division

Thushara Rupasinghe 36 Points

Runner up Seniors

Rowland Davis 24 Points

Runner up Ladies

Saduni Wanasinghe 32 Points B/B 9

ends/more

Media enquiries to:

Tharanga Gunasekera 94 11 44511350 tharangagunasekera@hsbc.com.lk

The Hongkong and Shanghai Banking Corporation Limited

The Hongkong and Shanghai Banking Corporation Limited is the founding member of the HSBC Group. HSBC serves customers worldwide from offices in 62 countries and territories. With assets of US\$3,039bn at 31 December 2023, HSBC is one of the world's largest banking and financial services organisations.